CHAMPIONS (BOOK REVIEW)

23213285Okay… I dunno why it’s taking me too long finishing this ‘Uglies’ book. And since I had vacation with co-workers for two days, I’ve decided to bring The Lost Chronicles of Eden: Champions by Karren Renz Seña. And I was able to finish it! Hooray…

I was so excited for this book. And I really searched for it. And take note, it is written by Filipina author, so it’s a worth read.

It’s so strange reading a book with familiar places and familiar words and familiar scenes. But I really enjoyed it. It’s makin me smile coz it’s been a while since I’ve read a Filipino-written book that isn’t ‘romance-pocket-book’.

THE STORY. I’m not totally blown-up with this kind of story. The candidates, and champions, and the judges, and the demons, and the chosen ones are not new things to me. But since it’s written by Seña, maybe it’s the reason why I appreciated it.

THE CHARACTERS. The characters are fine. Typical teenagers with special abilities is really a good concept. I am just confused with the names. Solenn, Selina, Solomon, Samson. I almost lose track who’s talking, Solenn or Selina? Solomon or Samson? But there was Lukas and Mateo and Joana and Gabriel. Well at least their names isn’t starting with ‘S’ too! And don’t forget Xandros!

THE TWIST. I really have some instinct on some scenes that came to reality. It’s just the latter part that I didn’t expect. Xandros and Gabriel. That’s the biggest twist to me.

THE SCENES. There are scenes that are predictable, and as I was saying im not totally blown away. One of the scene that I want to re-read is the confrontation between Solomon, Solenn and Xandros. I was seeing Hatake Kakashi on Xandros, with a book. Yeah! With a book! :p

THE SEQUEL. I am anticipating for the sequel. The literal book like this one. I don’t want installment episodes. So I am hoping to see the sequel on bookstore ASAP.

FINAL RATING: Well, only first book? 3 out of 5 stars. Waitin for the sequel until the chronicle is done. Maybe then I’ll be givin my final rating! 🙂

4 thoughts on “CHAMPIONS (BOOK REVIEW)

Leave a Reply

